ep3-086

ECAASU’2010

Wow…ok, I was only gone for a day and a half…but I am so exhausted. I felt like Jeff Yang and I were gone for like a week. This first picture is of our setup on the megabus. haha
I thought it was funny/pathetic that we had all this tech out just to keep ourselves occupied on a 2 hr bus ride. I think between the two of us there were 3 laptops, 2 iphones, 1 ipod, 5 flash drives, 1 usb hub and of course…1 copy of planet bboy to watch.
Anyway, we arrived at UPenn on Friday night. We quickly went to register ourselves in, and then just skipped the opening ceremonies to go get some dinner. Which….was incredibly mediocre.
Met up with Michael Le and Dorian of racebending.com to get some drinks. We just went into a random bar…which was a mistake. It was something that looked like it was out of a bad Patrick Swayze movie….and, they had live music. ugghhh…
The bands were playing….get this……videogame music.
So the next day we had to start pretty early. Jeff and I were running two workshops. And Raymond Chow was helping us run our table in the career area.
I tried to do something different in the workshops this time. It might not seem like much, but it was a lot more work/preparation for me. I usually draw our “build a hero” character on regular sized…like…9×12 paper. This time, to try and get the students to be more involved, I drew their character on a piece of 18×24 paper that was hung on the chalkboard. It seemed to be a little cooler. At the end of the session, kids were taking pics of it and I had them all sign the drawing, since it really is their character. I just drew what they talked about.
Later on in the day, we found out that our partner/brother in arms, Keith Chow was in the hospital. So our best wishes go out to him. And here I thought he was ditching us so he could stay home and play with his daughter…

Anyway, I’ll let the pictures do the rest of the talking.

Overall, I had a great time at ECAASU’10. This was a different experience for me. Before, whenever we had made any appearances, people were just checking us out because we were the “new guys”. This time, people already new of us. There was like…a different type of buzz around us this time. Which was very unique to me. Anyway, thanks to everyone for making it such a nice trip. Especially all the volunteers that helped show us around and carry stuff around for us. And thanks to Pat’s cheese steaks for making us wait on line for 45 minutes in the cold to get a solid sandwich.

-jerry
www.epicprops.com

Leave a Reply

