ep3-241

One more Lord of The Rings Sketch from Walter Simonson!

So we were delayed a bit by Comic Con, but Walter Simonson has been cool enough to send this sketch in he did of Sauron’s Hand from a little while ago for all of our viewing pleasure.

Just a quick run down of what “we” are doing.  Ken Knudtsen, Walter Simonson, Larry Hama and myself will be doing a sketch based off a theme we’ll all work off of each week for as long as we can keep it up.  Should be pretty fun to see what everyone does with the same theme.

The Hand of Sauron.  Pen, brush, and India ink, red marker?  8.5″ x 11″.  ©1966
When I was in college, I used to do drawings like this on 8.5″ x 11″ sheets of typewriter paper.  I would then tape the sheets, one at a time, to the outside of my dorm room door.  I guess I was giving my door its own title.
I suppose the text says “The Lord of the Rings” but I’d have to go back and retranslate it now.  The ring finger is m issing, and this was intended to be a representation of the Black Hand of Sauron, the Lord of the Rings, himself.
With the thumb not showing much either, I’d probably redesign this a little now, but it was still fun.  I think the red pennants on either side of the title are derived directly for the sort of design and color in the maps that accompanied most editions of The Lord of the Rings.
-Walter

You can keep up to date with Walter on his facebook page HERE.

And you can check out the artwork he did for my Signature Tshirts HERE.


					
Leave a Reply

