ep3-246

Sketch of The Week, Walter Simonson on The Avengers!

Just a quick run down of what “we” are doing.  Ken Knudtsen, Walter Simonson, Larry Hama and myself will be doing a sketch based off a theme we’ll all work off of each week for as long as we can keep it up.  Should be pretty fun to see what everyone does with the same theme.

This week our them will be, The Avengers.

In Walter’s own words, why he drew what he did.

I’m still on Captain Fear with no time for other drawings right now.  Rats.  Should finish the last page of pencils tomorrow and then I have to ink the job.

So how about this for the Avengers drawing?  It’s a little finished for a sketch.

Sorry.

But I figure a lot of folks probably didn’t see it when it was on ebay for Hero Initiative.

On the left side of the drawing is the original Avengers line-up, modified slightly in that Giant-Man was really Ant-Man in the earliest issues.  I wrote the title for about a year at the end of the 1980s.  The Avengers line-up I did in my final issue is on the right.  Cap is in the middle because he was in both line-ups, although in my issues, he was the Captain at that time in the M.U.  That’s how he’s depicted here.  Never had a chance to really write this line-up as I would have done, for reasons that needn’t concern us now.  I wasn’t the penciler on the book, so this was my chance to draw my old line-up.

Fun.

I erased the pencil around the figures, more or less, but left the pencil inside the figures to give them more depth.

FYI – Reed is holding the Ultimate Nullifier.  As far as I know, nobody’s noticed that up to now.

I figure it would make this a really difficult line-up to beat.  LOL.

You can keep up to date with Walter on his facebook page HERE.

And you can check out the artwork he did for my Signature Tshirts HERE.

-jerry

www.epicprops.com

Leave a Reply

