ep3-260

Sketch of The Week, Jet Li’s Fearless!

Just a quick run down of what “we” are doing.  Ken Knudtsen, Walter Simonson, Larry Hama and myself will be doing a sketch based off a theme we’ll all work off of each week for as long as we can keep it up.  Should be pretty fun to see what everyone does with the same theme.

This week we’re sketching the film Fearless starring Jet Li.

I had the huge urge to sit at home an watch some kung fu movies.  So doing this as a theme seemed like the perfect fit.  I know everybody keeps talking about Ip Man as the best martial arts film in the last few years.  But I would beg people to rewatch this movie and reconsider their opinion.

Now I’m not saying Donnie Yen or the Ip Man films are no good.  In fact, I love both.

But what I am definitely saying is that Fearless is an amazing film.  And there are like….5 different versions out there.  And most people have probably seen the American release, which spreads out all the fights sporatically throughout the film.  But the Chinese version they show the fights in the order they were intended, which was 4 in a row.

This movie also marked the final true martial arts film that Jet Li will ever do.  And I believe he considers this his best film to date.

Give this movie another chance, and I promise it’ll make you want to go outside and pick a fight with someone.  Just make sure he….or better yet, she is much older and smaller than you.

This drawing was done on a 9″x12″ piece of paper with my Sharpie pen.  Like last week, I found this a difficult drawing to do.  This time, the challenge was in capturing the motion of Jet Li in action.  Not only do I think I failed in doing that(he seems to stiff to me here like he’s posing), but I didn’t really get a very good likeness of him either.  Overall, I think the piece is ok.  Not awful, but not very successful either.

-jerry

www.epicprops.com

Leave a Reply

ep3-260

Sketch of The Week, Jet Li’s Fearless!

Just a quick run down of what “we” are doing.  Ken Knudtsen, Walter Simonson, Larry Hama and myself will be doing a sketch based off a theme we’ll all work off of each week for as long as we can keep it up.  Should be pretty fun to see what everyone does with the same theme.

This week we’re sketching the film Fearless starring Jet Li.

I had the huge urge to sit at home an watch some kung fu movies.  So doing this as a theme seemed like the perfect fit.  I know everybody keeps talking about Ip Man as the best martial arts film in the last few years.  But I would beg people to rewatch this movie and reconsider their opinion.

Now I’m not saying Donnie Yen or the Ip Man films are no good.  In fact, I love both.

But what I am definitely saying is that Fearless is an amazing film.  And there are like….5 different versions out there.  And most people have probably seen the American release, which spreads out all the fights sporatically throughout the film.  But the Chinese version they show the fights in the order they were intended, which was 4 in a row.

This movie also marked the final true martial arts film that Jet Li will ever do.  And I believe he considers this his best film to date.

Give this movie another chance, and I promise it’ll make you want to go outside and pick a fight with someone.  Just make sure he….or better yet, she is much older and smaller than you.

This drawing was done on a 9″x12″ piece of paper with my Sharpie pen.  Like last week, I found this a difficult drawing to do.  This time, the challenge was in capturing the motion of Jet Li in action.  Not only do I think I failed in doing that(he seems to stiff to me here like he’s posing), but I didn’t really get a very good likeness of him either.  Overall, I think the piece is ok.  Not awful, but not very successful either.

-jerry

www.epicprops.com

Leave a Reply

