ep3-334

I’ve been gone for a while…it’s catch up time!

Hi hi everyone.  It’s been a pretty long time since my last post.  And there has been a LOT that has gone and and even more in the works.

So our(Jeff Yang, Parry Shen, Keith Chow and myself) second graphic novel is now out in stores, Shattered.

This book in so many ways represents everything I’ve ever wanted to do with my career.  I have the opportunity to create stories that are relevant and important to me, and I get to do it working with amazing people.  And I even get to design the look and feel of the book as the art director.  Don’t get me wrong, I got to do the same things with Secret Identities our first graphic novel.  But this time we’re not just working through our mistakes.  We knew what was going to happen and how to deal with it.  And I really do think it’s clear in our 2nd volume.

Then, Jeff Yang has started and curated this art show called Marvels and Monsters at The MOCA museum in Chinatown New York.  And yeah…they even put up some of my work in there…in a friggin museum.  And not only that, but they even put my name up on the wall and gave me my own little section.

This show is up until February 23, 2013.  So if you get the chance, I really do recommend checking it out.

Then there was the NY Comic Con.

Every year the con comes around…and I find myself doing nothing but bitching and whining about how much work I have to put into preparing for it.  But then I get there and remember why I do all that.  I can’t begin to tell you how rewarding it is to be surrounded by friends and family…that all believe in you and want to help you.  And lucky for me, I’ve enjoyed a small bit of success at these things.  I mean…I get to sit there with people like Larry Hama, Walter Simonson, Bernard Chang, Cliff Chiang…and just my friends.  Fiona Chin, Annie Lee, Andrew Prosser, Chum Chum, Mike Heu and of course Ken Knudtsen…who I’ve been doing this with since college.

I was able to ride my bike to help raise money to fight multiple sclerosis on the Blue Ribbon Sushi team, which happens to be one of the top grossing teams in the event.

Then, I was lucky enough to go to the Philadelphia Asian American Film Festival with my Secret Identities partner and friend Parry Shen.  I got to tag along with him and see what it was all about.  As some of you may or may not know, Parry starred in the film Yes We’re Open, and I was fortunate enough that Parry not only wore three of my tees in the film, but he even got me into the credits for the film.  And then I was able to some extra promo art for the dvd, that was being given out with each dvd purchase for the first time at the film fest.

And once again, I got to meet so many new and amazing people.

And then not to be forgotten, New York was hit with Hurricane Sandy.  Luckily for me, where I live in Manhattan was more or less uneffected.  And I was happy/honored/lucky/fill in the blank to be able to help some friends out by letting them stay at my place.

And then finally…I recently received a thank you card in the mail.  LIke…an actual letter/card from someone that likes the stuff that I do.  It was so flattering and nice to receive.  I actually have the card hanging up on my refrigerator now, haha.  But that card really did make my day when I got it.

And all of that takes me to now.

I’m still drawing and getting to work on projects I have literally only dreamed of doing.  Unfortunately I am not at liberty right now to say what those said projects are.  But soon, I’ll get to share it with all of you and hopefully you’ll be as excited about them as I am.

In all of this, the main thing I’m taking from it all is really how lucky I am to be surrounded by the people I get to be around.  I’m not going to get all corny and name everyone, but if I’ve had a drink with you…then I’d like to thank you for helping me get through all the good and bad times with me.

I’m going to shut up now and just post some pics of everything that has happened of late.

-jerry

www.epicprops.com

@epicprops

Leave a Reply

