ep3-439

Port of Call…

PORT-FULLSIZE

The New York Asian Film Festival is coming…..and I couldn’t be more excited.

So it’s that time of year again.  And once again, I feel very fortunate to be a part of it.  The New York Asian Film Festival begins June 26th at Lincoln Center here in New York City.

The movie Port of Call, starring Aaron Kwok(this year’s guest of honor) is the feature film of the festival.  And I was able to illustrate the poster for it.

This poster was also a first for me as it was the first time I had gone from pencils straight into colors, skipping the inking stage.

I did this, not because I’m lazy and wanted to cut corners, but because I really wanted to capture some of the textures that the pencil gives that just can’t be duplicated with ink.

My friends Cliff Chiang and Andy Macdonald

both showed/ taught me how to color a different and better way than I had previously been doing.

PORT

Thought I’d show the pencils without any color here.  As you can see…or maybe you didn’t, I ended up “drawing” a little more in photoshop while I was coloring.  Most notably, by adding Aaron’s right elbow in.

Anyway, the festival is going to be great.  And I highly encourage everybody to go check it out.  You can find out more about the festival HERE.

-jerry

www.epicprops.com

@epicprops

Leave a Reply

