ep3-441

What I’ve been up to lately….

PG-01

So back in April, I had quit my job/career in graphic design to answer the constant nagging of my inner child and finally write and draw my own comic graphic novel.

Well…the word graphic novel I use loosely.  I’m targetting 48 pages.  Which at the time seemed like such a realistic goal.

Now, it just seems impossible to get to.

But this is not my first time trying to do my own book.  In fact, this is 6th time.  But the first time in about 10 years.  And during those 10 years, I’ve worked on a couple short stories here and there and on projects like Secret Identities and Shattered.  Which were all great and definitely helped me out in many ways.

That being said, I feel like I’ve grown as an artist in a weird way.  Even though I wasn’t drawing as much as I used to.  One of my mentor’s and good friends, Walter Simonson told me that finally maybe my hands were catching up to my brain.  Meaning that maybe after all this time, I’m finally able to execute what I had in my mind.

Anyway to make a long story short, I was sick and tired of just coasting through life.  I wanted to be challenged and finally roll the dice and see what I’m made of.  So I quit my job and just started this comic.

This….comic, is what I personally have always wanted to see at a comic store but never have.  It’s going to have Asian heroes, a touch of Chinese mythology, use parts of Asia I love as reference, have martial arts action, and hopefully not be the worst thing people will have seen.

I’m no writer…so the dialogue will be terrible…at best.

But hopefully people will be patient enough to see what I’m trying to do here.

Anyway, here are the first 7 pages for you to check out minus the text.

PG-01-FLAT PG-02-FLAT PG-03-FLAT PG-04-FLAT PG-05-FLAT PG-06-FLAT PG-07-FLAT

I tried something I’ve never done before on this project, which is going straight from pencils to color.  This was based off the recommendation of my friends Cliff Chiang, Ivan Brandon and Andy Macdonald.

Honestly, I was reluctant to try this as I generally hate when other artists do this.  But I must say, I do like the extra texture it gives my work.  Another of my good friends, Bernard Chang had been trying to get me color like this for years now actually.  And he was a big help in pointing out some awful tendencies I had in my storytelling.

This will eventually become the first 48 pages of my story, which will translate into the first 2 issues.  When I eventually get to that point, I’ll be launching a kickstarter campaign to hopefully get this project published and I sure would love your help and support when the time comes.

-jerry

www.epicprops.com

@epicprops

Leave a Reply

